The Huguenot Museum is a reconstruction of the manor house which stood in Kloof Street, Cape Town. The building in Kloof Street was built about 1791 and was for Willem Ferdinand van Reede van Oudtshoorn, an accountant with the VOC (Vereenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie).
Franschhoek Master Builders was awarded the tender for the building contract. Construction of the Huguenot Memorial Museum in Franschhoek began in 1964 and was completed in time for its opening ceremony in 1967. Brian Mansergh was appointed as the main architect, due to the fact that he was a direct descendant of the Van Reede Van Oudtshoorn family, and the he was assisted by Prof Bax and other specialists acted as an advisory committee to assist the architect on the authenticity of the reconstructed building.
The Huguenot Memorial museum was proclaimed in 1960. The Huguenot museum has various displays showcasing information about Why they here? Who brought them here? Where did they settle? and a list of surnames of Huguenots.
In addition to the galleries of the Main Building, portraying Huguenot History, the Museum also has an Annex in which exhibitions on Franschhoek, Fynbos, Khoisan and Huguenot families are displayed. The Annex also has a Gift store where visitors are more than welcome to purchase Souvenirs, Books and many more items.